Skip to content
Picking technique (...

Notifications
Clear all

Picking technique (when strumming+walking bassline)

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@nathk)
Topic starter  

Hello guys,

I've been playing the guitar for three years and have never learned how to position my right hand properly when playing a song that requires both strumming and picking individual notes such as a walking bassline (when using a pick).

Do I need to anchor my hand using my pinky so that i can pick the bass notes without getting in the way of my strumming? Should my hand be floating, not touching the guitar? I find it difficult to be precise when doing so. Or does my hand need to be placed on the bridge? I tried playing "i shot the sheriff" whilst keeping my hand against the bridge but couldn't strum the chords properly. Does the method change when muting strings? I found the first 3 strings very hard to mute. Help!!! I'm stuck :)

if anyone could help me with this, it would be much appreciated. I'd also be very grateful if anyone could suggest some excercises that could help to improve this technique.

Thanks a million!!
Nath

(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member

I also have trouble with this, and I hope someone with expertise will respond.

What I can say is this: The motion of strumming (as many of us practice it--especially the self-taught, like me) makes picking individual strings especially difficult. A strum is a free sweeping motion, often practiced with enthusiasm by those carried away by the joy of music! :P The movement is about rhythmic energy and not about precision; thus it tends to disengage the picking hand from the strings.

Needless to say, this energy doesn't translate well into precise picking. When I want to pick a few single notes (such as a walking bassline) I often myself diving at the string from a position several inches above; the result is, well...very often not good! :oops: