Skip to content
picking...triplet s...

Notifications
Clear all

picking...triplet style, metal like lamb of god for ex.

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@smitty420)
Topic starter  

hey i just got a question about picking

i am a "progressing" metal guitarist or atleast i wanna be and im having trouble with fast picking like just open E (or C tuned down) in like triplets so like lamb of god 0_0_0 0_0_0 but super fast i hope someone knows what i mean if you have any advice about this style of picking anything at all palm muting etc. please post a reply much appreciated

(@matteo)
Honorable Member

Hi mate

I've been playing for a couple of years and I've just approached triplets. I've found out that I've got no problem to play them with downstrums only or with thumb and fingers (like in bossa nova style), it is a lot more difficult to play them with alternate picking which, I guess, is the only way to play them at fast tempos..anyway I'm slowly improving and I hope to get the grasp of it quite soon.

Anyway, from my little experience, I've found out that the most important thing to do when learning a new rhythm, is to learn how it should sound: only if you've got the correct sound in your head you'll slowly learn how to play it (the sound of triplets is similar to a waltz one, only a lot faster since you play 12 notes in the same time you played 3 with a waltz!). Also it is very important to learn how to correctly sincronize your hand with your foot (it is strongly advised to tap your foot while playing in order to keep a steady rhythm): in this case you must check to play a costant flow of three notes checking that you play a downstrum the first time you tap the foot and an upstrum the second one and so on...last thing: try to play the rhythm muting your string with your left hand: this way it is easier to concentrate on the rhythm itself

cheers

Matteo

ReplyQuote
(@niklas)
Reputable Member