Clear all

Picking using the wrist

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@invictious)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am new to the guitar and I recently got a free acoustic guitar, it is Kapok brand

I also have a pick

I got a question about picking

When you pick, do you use only your wrist, or do you use your wrist with your arms

And if you are supposed to pick with only your wrists, how is it possible that you do that, I have been trying for the past few minutes and I still could not do so

And picking with your arm, long term it causes tennis elbow
and perhaps carpal tunnel syndrome

How are they prevented? I mean famous guitarists who practice like 3 hours a day since they were young, yet they still maange to perform without carpal tunnel syndrome or tennis elbow

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Firstly i want to know how you got that free guitar !

And Well , onto your question so well you should use your wrist while picking.I don't use a pick myself but i when i strum i use my wrist a lot.So if you meant about strumming you should use your wrist on an acoustic guitar.

On an electric they make use of the whole arm most often then not.(as i have seen)

And since you are new to guitar , we are here to help ya

Welcome to GN , the home of musical maniacs :wink:

Rahul

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Regardless of what you see on concert tapes or music videos (virtually all music video is done for show and should never be taken as a "how to" lesson - it's all about playing to the crowd and not about playing the instrument), you want to use the wrist.