Clear all

Playing partial chords?

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Just wondering what everyone does when it comes to fingering partial chords. Is it common to finger the entire chord and only play the appropriate strings, or do most people only finger the specific strings being played. For example, the song I'm working on calls for a partial D major chord (- - 12 11 10 10). With this particular chord, I find it easier to finger the entire chord and just play the top 4 strings, however, in other instances it just seems easier/more comfotable to just finger the notes to be played.

Is their a correct way, or is it a more a question of personal preference?

Thanks

KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

The term, partial chord, could also refer to strumming just some of the strings in a chord.

So it's good that you defined what you meant by partial chord.

I'm just sayin' . . .

But as for me, I'm a beginner . . .

and the only experience I have with not fingering all of the frets involved in a chord

is when I'm fingerpickin' a song and know that high e is not used in a G chord . . .

so I don't bother with it . . . and my pinky floats in the air . . .

observing the other fingers . . . hard at work . . . while it gets a respite. :mrgreen:

KR2

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

As most things related to guitar it depends but in general it's usually easier to grab the whole chord and then only play the strings you want but in some cases it will be more efficient to just hold those satrings you need to play without holding the full chord.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@wmwilson01)