Clear all

Playing with other people

16 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@poorpetebest)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hello, I'm kind of a lurker around these parts, but I had a breakthrough the other day and would like some input.

I've been playing on and off for about 3 years now and I've gotten to the point where I can learn and play songs to a point where I'm satisfied with how they sound. I've never had any lessons and I have progressed solely on learning songs that I like. I think I may have missed out on something in this approach however.

Over the weekend I took a short trip, packed the guitar, entertained some people around the campfire, and had myself a good ol' time. I also met up with some people and we had a jam session of sorts. Normally, I don't have time to play with other people so this was a rather new experience for me. And it turned out that these guys were damned good.

We took turns playing songs and it was then that my faults began to ring through. It seems that every time it was my turn, they had no trouble picking out the song, irregardless of whether it was something they had learned or not. They asked me for the key (which to my embarassment I was rarely able to provide them) and followed right along. When it was their turn, if I didn't know the song I would spend about half the tune trying to pick up the chords and changes by ear, sometimes not at all.

Don't get me wrong, the entire experience was fantastic and I had a lot of fun, but I was a bit disappointed to find that my playing was nowhere near as good as I thought. It has never occured to me that I could be able to grab the basics of a song without practicing it first.