Clear all

Please help out an absolute beginner...

10 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@nick0512)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi, I'm Nick, I'm 17, on homeschool, and have A LOT of free time on my hands (which I think will be beneficial to learning how to play.) I've been wanting to learn how to play guitar for a while now but I never really said to myself "Hey, me, I'm gonna do this... now!" Well, I said just that a few days ago but I've never picked up an instrument in my life, I don't know where to begin. :?

I've decided that I wanna start out with an acoustic and get an electric later on when I know how to play well but I need help with deciding which brand/model I should start out with. If you guys can recommend a really good one it would be greatly appreciated. Also, what accessories should I buy along with my guitar to help me along the journey to becoming great? Finally, does it matter if someone starts out with either an acoustic or electric? I've heard that you should start out with an acoustic then move on to electric rather than starting with electric.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read my post and helping me out. :wink:

I wanna be an elite guitarist. :)

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Hi Nick,

It doesn't matter which guitar you start on, as long as it fits with where you want to end up. You shouldn't start on acoustic if you have no intention of playing acoustic.

Stuff you'll need:

capo
extra strings
picks
metronome
chromatic tuner
music stand
guitar strap

You haven't said how much you want to spend, but three good beginner guitar lines:

Seagull - just about any of their models
Walden - I've only played one, but it seemed fine
Washburn - Make sure you get a solid top. I like the D-25 and D-29. For a smaller guitar, take a look at the F-10s

You really have to play them to pick.

You should be able to get a good acoustic from the list above for under $300. The F-10s I've seen on ebay for $170.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member