Clear all

practice makes perfect!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@jeremyd)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

im relativly new clearly im still learning chords and all that good stuff but i was wondering how anyone at my stage in learning should practice.. basicly im looking for a practice routine any advice would be a appreciated.. i am also thinkin about getting lessons 21$ a half hour they said! doesnt sound to bad i am wondering if lessons are with other people or you and the teacher! who knows oh well

JErm

(@steve-0)
Noble Member

For $21 an hour I would hope they are private lessons. As for practice schedule i'm sure that's something a teacher could help you with, but if you don't get a teacher i would continue practicing chords and try learning some songs, it doesn't have to be anything fancy.

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@maestro04)
Trusted Member

Yea man. Make sure you take systematically approach to it. Don't just mess around.

Learn as many songs as you can, songs that interest you.

As far as lessons go, I use to take private lessons for 45 bucks an hour in San Francisco. So $21 per half an hour isnt so bad.

ReplyQuote
(@stlguitarist92)

when i was new to guitar i always made a list of songs i liked and would like to learn. Songs with catchy riffs. Then i would go to 911tabs.com and search for the songs..

Now i don't know if you read tabs or if you read notes but either way i'm sure you can find the song in both forms on the internet somewhere.

Listen to the song and listen to how the strumming goes and once that's in your mind try it by yourself. Once you're slowly picking up the song try playing along with the song. If the song seems way too difficult for you, then try looking for something a little less complicated.

I don't know what kind of music you are into playing, but i think Nirvana songs are very easy beginners songs. Try "About a Girl". It's easy to play.