Clear all

Practice Routine

18 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@slowfingers)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Ok, I am pretty much a complete newbie on guitar, and trying to improve/learn. Right now I am doing the following practice routine:

1 hour total
1) 15 minutes playing scales (major scales, just C,F,G, &D for now)....also mix in the argeggios for those scales and work on broken thirds for the scales I have a better handle on
2) 15 minutes working on strumming chord changes. Right now, I am only working between C, D, G, and Em. Still not making these chord changes very cleanly, with the most difficulty going from C to D...I will mix in other chord changes once I get these 4 down a little better. Main emphasis here is to make a clean change, hitting the chord cleanly on the first try (not doing that so well yet). If I can tell I missed, then I pick through the chord slowly to hear and see where I missed the mark
3) I am working out of a method book (WB Guitar Method 1). I spend 30 minutes in it, first going back over whatever I practiced yesterday to nail it down a little better, then work up a couple of new songs/lessons going through those thoroughly until I can do them right repeatedly. I may spend the last 5 minutes sightreading/getting a headstart on the lesson I will be working on tomorrow

If there is time left (or I just feel like playing on), I will put in a CD, get a tab for a few songs, and just play along for fun, doing the best I can. Of course, I limit myself for now to songs I know the chords for. This is really an extension of the chord practice from earlier, with less emphasis on making sure I do it right and more emphasis on enjoying myself.