Notifications
Clear all

Problems Picking

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@jdb237)
Topic starter  

I have been playing guitar for about 2 weeks, so I have very little experience. When I first started, I got into the habit of only picking downward. Now I learned that you're supposed to alternate (Downward-Upward), and I have a lot of trouble picking upward. I tried holding the pick many different ways, but it doesn't seem to help. I don't seem to hit the strings smoothly, it always seems that I'm hitting the strings to hard or I'm gonna break them. What can I do to fix this?

(@violet-s)
Reputable Member

Firstly don't forget to relax - maybe before you start playing pause and visualize yourself striking the strings in a softer manner. (You may not need to do a down and an up strike all the time, it depends on the rhythm of the song you are playing or on what string you are going to hit after the preceding one.)
Just take as an exercise to do the down and up strokes evenly one after another, without bothering about a song, at first- just to get the up strokes happening, it just takes time and practice and it helps if you can have someone to show you.
It's natural that you will have difficulty at first because it's just new territory for your brain and muscle memory. I guess it's like when we learnt to walk as babies, we will always make mistakes at first. Hope this helps :)

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Sounds to me like it's the angle of the pick. If you're angling the pick back (so the tip faces a bit upward) when you're picking down, you'll give a more resistance going back up.