Clear all

Progressing with/without a teacher or with/without reading

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@savate)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I wondered how many guitarists can really progress to higher levels being just self-taught and without a teacher?

Mostly, I ponder how advanced one can get without learning to read music/standard notation (and just surviving on TAB alone).

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

It depends, somewhat, on what you mean by "self taught". Many, names escape me but BB was one, were taught by watching other blues artists and replicating what they saw. Many of them, I have read, cannot read music either.

But that said, its always better to have more tools than less. Personally, I study with and without my teacher. I dont read music but I wish I had started doing that from the beginning.

I dont know that i answered your question well. But I think the answer is that it depends alot on the person.

Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

Geo made some good points but it also depends on your goals. If you want to someday play in a band and try to make a living as a musician then reading standard notation is a must. Studio musicians are others who MUST know notation and be able to transpost to various keys in an instant. If all you want to do is play around with the guitar at campfires or with your friends just for personal enjoyment then you don't need to know notation...but again as geo pointed out...the more tools you have the more you can do.