Clear all

Proper seat and my back

28 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@minotaur)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I put this in Beginner's Q&A because I am a beginner, and I know you experienced guys must have encountered this.

The chair I am using, and the way I am holding my guitars is wreaking havoc on my back, not to mention affecting how I am playing. That is, I know the position of the guitar is making it difficult to form some chords properly.

The chair I am currently using is a padded office-type/computer desk chair with arms. The arms are in the way such that I have to sit almost on the edge and turn to the left so the body of the guitar clears the right arm (which rarely happens). Then I do not have free movement of my fretting arm and the neck. I know this is bad, bad, bad and most likely hindering my progress.

The back part is that I also need to use a strap when sitting in this chair to hold the guitar somewhat correctly (emphasis on "somewhat"). But it's killing my back. I experience spasms and cramps in my right side mid-back about where the ribs are. I went for 5 days this week without playing, for reasons that are neither here nor there. In those 5 days, not a hint of a cramp. Last night after one hour of playing, if you could call it that fighting to hold the guitar properly, my back gave me the Mother of All Spasms. I've tried standing and using a metal stand for my sheets, and it works for a while. But it's probably a lot different than moving around on stage.

OK, getting past all that, what kind of seat do you all use or recommend? Will a folding metal chair do? How about the type of padded stool found in a doctor's office? A wooden barstool, and what height? Something like these...

I have one like the wooden one above, but it's height is probably about 28-30" (it just fits under the desk to store it). I've used it but it seems a bit high. I can rest my foot on the lower rung.

Thanks for any advice. :wink: