Clear all

Proper technique problem w/ left hand

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@hummerlein)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ok well first of all, I've been playing for about 8 months. The trouble is that I learned on electric and got into some bad habits with my left hand. Now I'm on classical and my teacher says I should have no problem getting into music school for next fall.

Anyway, I'm having troubles with my left hand. When I play chords such as open C, the tendency is for my index finger to bend back at the first joint (like it bends back towards the top side of my hand, if that makes sense), instead of keeping a natural curve to the guitar. I've tried fixing this, but then something else goes wrong, like my wrist gets curved instead of being straight, and I just can't seem to get my arm and hands on the right spot on the guitar with good technique. Also when I do play close to properly, it's way harder for me to do easy chord changes. Is this just because I've practiced them wrong all this time?

How should I be moving or adjusting myself so that I play with a straight wrist and without bending my finger back? Should I just keep on trying and hope it gets better over time?

I keep my thumb on the back of the neck at about the height of my middle finger, so I don't think that is contributing to the problem.

Thanks for some help. I can elaborate more if needed.

(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It sounds like you need to raise the headstock - if I get what you're describing, your first index knuckle is probably over the third or fourth string - you want it over the second. Dropping the wrist wil also fix it, but that leads to the unnatural motion you've already found.

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

ReplyQuote
(@hummerlein)
Estimable Member
Topic starter