Pull off problems!

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@incognito167)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,

I've been playing electric for about 3 months now and am starting to tackle hammer ons and pull offs.

My problems is that when i perform my pull offs i end up catching, and sounding, the string directly below it. So if i was pulling off a note on the D string i always end up flicking the the G string too.

Now is this just something that will improve with practice as my hand strength increases and consequently use less hand/finger movement to do a pull off, or am i doing something technically wrong?

All advice is very much welcome.

Mart

(@theredd)
Trusted Member

I'd be interested in the answer, I've been having the same problem.

ReplyQuote
(@davidhodge)

Without being able to see you, it's kind of hard to say if you're doing anything drastically, technically wrong.

That being said, more times than not beginners are developing their finger strength for pull-offs only when they start performing them. Usually at this begining phase, the pull-offs are a bit exaggerated in order to perform them (remember your first hammer-ons or how about the "pressure" you needed to fret your first chord?). As you develop the strength in your fingers, not to mention your confidence in performing pull-offs, you should find yourself making shorter and cleaner movements.