Notifications
Clear all

Question about Improving Playing

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@songwaves)
Topic starter  

This is my first post, and I'm writing for some general advice for how to advance my guitar playing.

I've been playing guitar off and on since I was about 14 years old... I'm in my mid 30's now. I first started playing when a friend showed me a few chords and how to listen to a record and figure out the chords. Since then, I've always played rhythm and can pretty much listen to any basic rock or pop song and figure it out.

That said, I've always wanted to expand my abilities, and move into more lead guitar playing. I've never figured out how to do that. I can figure out the melody line to a song, so I think I have a decent ear, and then just memorize the notes and play that as a "lead". I've used that when I was recording stuff on a four track and needed a solo. But it's still very limited and I can only play stuff I work through and memorize. I don't even use tab to notate it.

I've read advice before saying to memorize the notes on the guitar, which I kind of know, practice scales, learn theory. I could never really understand how that translates into playing lead guitar, improvising, writing better solos. I've tried reading some theory but it just seems disconnected to actually playing guitar and doesn't make much sense to me.

How does one move from just strumming rhythm guitar to playing solos and improvising or really being a lead player? What's the best place to start?

If anyone has any advice, I'd love it. I still enjoy guitar but have wanted to expand my playing for years. Sometimes I feel like I'm really dense since there are so many websites, books, etc. out there but I can't understand how to use them. I honestly don't think my guitar playing has improved much since age 16 except learning new chords and new songs.

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member