Notifications
Clear all

Question about playing chords

16 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@moose_man9)
Topic starter  

i am brand new to playing guitar, just got one about a week ago. Ive been learning a few chords and i feel it is going fairly well. My question is about chords that dont involve strumming all the strings, such as a D major. i have trouble strumming the correct strings, is this something you get better at as you muscle memory increases? also, am i supposed to strum these chords in an upward motion as well? this seems even harder to strum only the desired chords. Any advice?

thanks

(@falcon1)
Reputable Member

It comes with practice - but make sure you are practicing it correctly. I found that really actually visualizing which strings I am trying to hit helped me get it down. As for strumming upwards, yes, you can strum up and down, just like anything else, but again, you only want to hit the strings that are part of the chord. Good luck :D

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

Also strum from your elbow. Try to imagine your wrist is in a cast. It will seem un-natural but no need starting bad habits

ReplyQuote
 Jay1
(@jay1)
Trusted Member

Also strum from your elbow. Try to imagine your wrist is in a cast. It will seem un-natural but no need starting bad habits

This is a good tip. I've been playing for about a year, although my progress has been slow I've always felt my strumming was pretty good. That is until the last couple of weeks, where things have started to sound a bit sloppy. Last night I had a good analytical look at myself to try and work out what I was doing wrong, and I think what it was is that I'd started getting into a habit of strumming with my wrist. This was causing me to put uneven pressure on the strings and resulting in some quite nasty chord sounds.

ReplyQuote
(@moose_man9)
Topic starter