Notifications
Clear all

Question About Reading.

13 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@agewizard)
Topic starter  

I'm new at guitar and I was wondering, when reading music I know that E shows up twice on a G Clef music staff, and that there is an octave between them (I think..), what I don't get is which of the many E's to play. Does it have anything to do with the key?

(@wabbit)

The high E on the music staff (the space between the first two lines of the staff)
is played with the 1st (thinnest) string open (not fretted).
The E one octave below that is the E on the first line of the music staff and is played by 2nd fret of the 4th string.
The 6th string open E is 4 spaces below the staff.

Is that what you mean?

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'll pass on this, and let somehow who can read standard notation help you. But it's my understanding that every E note is an octave apart from every other E note, and will show up that way on the staff. To take an example - if you play an ascending run from E to F to G to A on one string, you won't expect to find the G note higher than the F note on the stave....that's the great thing about notation as opposed to tab, if you really understand it, you can play ANYTHING.....in the right key, with the right time signature, exactly as the artist wrote it. Whereas with tab, you have to know the song inside out....

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@agewizard)
Topic starter  

Yes! Thank you, sorry if it was a stupd question...

ReplyQuote
(@wabbit)

No such thing as a stupid guitar question.
Feel free to ask.
I like questions I can answer. The others I don't like.

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member