20 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@meebit)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I just wanted to say Hi and Wassup?!

And ask a couple questions...
Okay so I'm a beginner; so much so that I have'nt even bought my first guitar yet ;) but I'm really excited about the adventure I'm about to embark on...

Okay, question 1. For my first guitar I'm thinking about the Epiphone Les Paul series & wanted to know what y'all think of those in general and especially for beginners (I'm going electric to avoid inflicting my lack of skill on my housemates, especially because I'm the only one in the house that works nights ;) )

Question 2. Am I correct in assuming that any decent Guitar port for PC will come with a tuner thingy?

Thank in advance.

P.S. I use this name everywhere on the web, so if anyone remembers me from elswhere please soundout!

MeeBit

(@cyranodb)
Estimable Member

Well, I don't know much about computer ports for guitars because the only thing I ever plugged in to was an amp. Epiphones are not bad guitars and I might be looking to get one myself soon. I know you said that you haven't bought a guitar yet, but have you looked at any?? I know you have your heart set on an epiphone but you might just want to go to your local guitar store and try a few on for size. Gibson's and epiphones (Epiphone is Gibsons more affordable line), in my opinion tend to be a bit heavier than I like. It's not good or bad, it's just a preference. Might want to try on a few guitars for feel and plug them in to see how they sound. Any reputable guitar store shouldn't mind you trying on and plugging in a couple of guitars to see how they feel and sound; especially when you're considering plunking down between $300 to $800 for a new guitar. Then you might want to shop around if you have that option...see if you can find a better deal on the guitar you like anywhere.

Good luck man. It's a great adventure to be one.