Clear all

Quick results

16 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@blackrat)
Topic starter  

Hi,
I am a complete beginner. I own an electric guitar and a bass. I have never had any lessons on the electric and about 1 years worth on the bass which I stopped learning on about 8 years ago. I was pretty useless as I didn't practise that much. I have a a copy of Guitar Pro Software.

What I am planing on doing is trying to learn a lead guitar part by using guitar pro and running it at its slowest speed until I get it and then speed it up bit by bit until one day I can actually play that part. I figure that once I can play something I know and like I will be more interested in learning chords and doing theory work.

Yes I want to learn a party piece and I realise that it is not a great foundation for learning the guitar, the trouble is I get bored of learning a few chords and get frustrated because I cant change between them and before you know it the guitar is back in its cover and another couple of years have passed (long enough to forget the previous frustration)

A guitar teacher is out of the question at the moment.

Any thoughts on the above?

Blackrat

(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

Learning songs by ear is great, but it is unlikely that a complete beginner will see it through to learn an entire lead.

Try mixing up what you learn: some open chords, an "easy" scale like the minor pentatonic in only one position, a little theory, etc.

In fact try using David Hodge's beginner lessons, which are right here on this site. It will get you playing actual songs right away.

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

There are no "quick results" with any instrument. Getting good takes a lifetime . . . we're all still learning all the time.

Not learning something because it's frustrating to you that you're not good at doing something you've never done before is not a good sign.