Notifications
Clear all

Rhythm Guitarist

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@hmingtea)
Topic starter  

What type of practice and what are the things i need to learn to become a good rhythm guitarist like Jame Hetfield or Dave Mustaine... :D

(@adrianjmartin)
Estimable Member

Have a career playing guitar that's kept you near the top of your league for 30 years...and still going...

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

well i am no expert, but how about just learning and analysing their rhythm guitar parts to some of their songs, then you can apply what they are doing to your own compositions?

Every time i learn a song i try to see how the guitar parts work i.e what scale are they using for certain licks over specific chords etc, and then i try to "steal" those ideas and use them in different situations.

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

Walk before you run, of course-

Start with the basics. Learn open chords. Learn the blues. Shuffle with the blues. Move the beat a little and change it into rock.

Then learn the things that make metal sound metal. Gallop rhythms. Harmonics. Palm Muting. LOTS of palm muting. Distortion. Play with NO distortion (to know you're hitting the notes clean and right) and with as much distortion as you can get (to know that you're controlling all the "extra" sounds you get.)