Clear all

Scales, modes and what to do...

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@thegrimm)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for around 9 months, and before I had started lessons, was working with the movable major scale. I started by learning the step pattern, then moved on to working out the moveable major scale myself, and finally playing it up and down the neck, try to memorize both the notes of the scale and the relative position on the fretboard. I focus on one or two scales at a time, so I play Cmajor until I have it down solid. Occasionally I'll amuse myself by working on little melodies within the scale.

Having started lessons, my teacher has put me to learning the finger patterns of the various modes, but after reading an oldish post in the music theory forum, I've become convinced that there's no real need for me to go memorizing modes. Yet, anyway :) So I'll resist him and go back to playing the major scale up and down the neck, to where I can play every single major scale forwards and backwards on the fretboard (and maybe even side to side), naming the notes as I go.

Good idea?

I really struggle to learn the fretboard, though. I tend to remember the notes relative to it's position in the scale, rather than it's absolute position on the fretboard. Point to a fret/string, and chances are I'll think for a few seconds, mentally play the scale in my head, and tell you the note. There are a few exceptions. So I AM learning the absolute positions...it's just slow. It may come more easily when I find more applications for the scales (beyond melody-on-the-fly)

I've tried other "fretboard memory" exercises, to no avail.