Clear all

Scales to Riffs

16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

So I've been working on scales since my teacher told me to work on them. Playing a scale up and down is easy enough but here's my problem: I can't play a riff from the scale. When I play a riff, it feels like I'm learning it from scratch and not from the scale. Any advice?

(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Hey OWA,

You may or may not like them....but Led Zepp's Black Dog (Main Riff) made sense to me once I started learning the Pent Minor Scale. I learned the riff before I learned the scale. Then when I did learn the scale it dawned on me... Heyyyyy this riff is all about the Minor Pent scale......Heyyyyyy Pretty cool.

Then I started to try it with other songs/riffs.... sure 'nuff. Its very simple actually.. NOT EASY, but simple and, as my brit brothers/sisters like to say.... "Quite Brilliant". :wink: :wink:

No Chord
e-|----------------|-----------------------|----------------------|
B-|----------------|--------------5--------|----------------------|
G-|----------------|-5-------7------5h7p5--|--------5-------------|
D-|----5--6--7-----|-----7-----------------|-7---7------7---5--7--|
A-|-7-----------7--|-----------------------|----------------------|
E-|----------------|-----------------------|----------------------|

e-|--------------------------------|
B-|--------------------------------|
G-|--------------------------------|
D-|--7-------------------2---------|
A-|------5---7---3---5---0---------|
E-|--------------------------------|

e-|-------------|------------------|----------------|----------------|
B-|-------------|----------5-------|----------------|----------------|
G-|-------------|-5-----7----5h7p5-|------5---------|----------------|
D-|---5-6-7-----|----7-------------|-7--7----7--5-7-|-7----------2---|
A-|-7--------7--|------------------|----------------|---5-7-3-5--0---|
E-|-------------|------------------|----------------|----------------|