Clear all

Scales,modes and the other stuff im just confused

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@steveobouttorock)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

This is me first post so i dont Know if im doing this right, anywhom...

I've been playing for a couple months now and I've recently wanted to start making solos, me friends say i just have to use scales and modes and i have no idea what im supposed to do with them, i've been trying to figure em out but i have no idea what im supposed to do with them or how they change with key or anything, so i pretty much have no idea when it comes to scale theory :? Would somebody please sort this out for me once and for all.

be good at what you can do-

(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member

Don't worry about modes for now. They are basically just more scales, but they tend to confuse people a lot. A scale, as you may know, is a set of notes, with one note that the scale begins on. That note gives the scale it's name. When you're soloing over some chords, it's a good idea to pick a scale that fits well with them. When you play only notes from that scale, you have a better chance of playing something passable.

When you're playing in a key (which is all the time for most people), your song uses mainly notes from the scale that key is named for. The chords in the song are likely to use only notes from that scale, although they may not. The melody will use mostly notes from that scale as well.

If you're just writing solos with no backing chords, you don't have to worry about which scale you use. Just pick one you like and play around within it. There are lots of sites that list scales, I'm sure someone here can suggest one. Note: it's not necessary to use any particular scale to construct a solo, but you'll have a very difficult time doing if if you're just picking notes out of the air. Feel free to try it though.