Skip to content
Should I force myse...

Notifications
Clear all

Should I force myself to learn to play with a pick?

12 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@pilot7)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I'm just starting out, I've been playing for a couple of months (I use an acoustic). I can pick really fast with my fingers and it has felt very natural to me from day 1. I am having trouble using a plastic pick, it feels very awkard. I imagine this may be because of years of fast computer typing (over 100 wpm)? My question is whether this will come back and haunt me in the future? If I can finger pick really fast is there any reason to learn to plastic pick? Basically, in order to get better should I force myself to learn a plastic pick, or can I do fine without it.

I can also strum fairly well using the left side of my thumb nail so that is not a problem.

(@metaellihead)
Honorable Member

Both are skills you should master on an at least passable level. The techniques give differen't tones and sounds out of your axe. Picking will take you some getting used to, but the more you do it the easier it will become. Some songs just sound better picked and some not.

Most often I prefer the sharper, crisper tone of a pick. And sometimes it just doesn't fit the song so fingers are needed.

-Metaellihead

ReplyQuote
(@pilot7)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

thanks

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

It depends on the music you play, and on your sound.

It's true that some sounds can't be had with a pick, and others can't be gotten with fingerstyle - but either will get you close (pick-only players often do hybrid picking passages, etc.)

Wes Montgomery, the great jazz guitarist, played with his thumb. After he'd been playing for a few years, he realized that guitarists who used a pick were much faster than he was on runs, so he should learn that....