Clear all

Should I just quit playing?

22 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@sagaciouskjb2)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for around 10 months or around that amount of time so far, and although I have improved greatly, I'm still nowhere where I want to be.

Lately, when I play, all I think about is wishing I could play something that actually sounds nice, and not just some chord progression, or some repetitious solo on a scale. There's generally just no innovation, and not really any creativity into what I start playing. I never like the sound of it, and just the sound of myself playing guitar deters me from playing at all.

It's no longer any fun to me. I'm just constantly reminded of wanting to be able to play something better. I mean, it's not particularly a question of skill per se, aside from speed, it's just that whatever I think may sound cool, I can't play, and if I can play it, it doesn't actually even sound good.

So, right now, it's just annoying to hear myself play, and that really makes it harder to keep practicing. I know people will always say, "Don't give up," but the more I try to persevere, the more I get more annoyed with how much I suck.

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Nope, go ahead and give up. Temporarily

Learning to play the guitar is a life long process. If you feel this bad at 10 months, maybe now is not the time for you to learn.

Put it down. Come back in a few months. Guitar isn't a competition, it's a striving to get better.

If you have lost the joy in striving to get better, then wait until you get it back.

ReplyQuote
(@lee-n)
Estimable Member

I have been playing guitar for over 25 years and I am nowhere near where I want to be and after this amount of time it's fairly likely I never will be. As frustrating as it can be at times I absolutely love learning something new, I improve daily at a snails pace but continously strive to get better even at a slow pace.