Notifications
Clear all

singing while playing

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@hanaya)
Topic starter  

I'm new to guitar, and one of the things I really want to do is be able to sing while playing. I've picked a song, and can play the guitar end of it well enough that I don't need to think a lot about it while playing. I want to add the singing part to it, but its very difficult. I have trouble with things like keeping the beat, and even though I know the guitar part very well, I lose it when I start to sing. It's very frustrating.

Does anyone have any tips, or suggestions on things I can do to learn how to sing and play?

(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member

What everyone is gonna say is practice, practice. So practice. ;)

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

What everyone is gonna say is practice, practice. So practice. ;)

AND slow it way down. When I started singing and playing, I would strum and sing very slow. Almost at a speaking level. Then once I would get the strum and the word to match up pretty well.. I would speed up. You can get there. Some songs are more difficult than other but once you figure out how to do it with one or two songs it gets easier.

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@jmaikos)
Eminent Member

It may sound silly, but try singing it in your head while playing the song. Then slowly start singing out loud while you are playing. It may help. Good luck

ReplyQuote
(@hanaya)
Topic starter  

Thanks for all the wonderful suggestions. I'm definitely going to take it slower. I've been playing in almost all the free time I have, because I've been enjoying it so much. And I really want to get better, and enjoy the beautiful music I can make once I get good enough.

Does anyone have any good suggestions of easy songs for me to start with that could be sang while played?

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member