Clear all

Skill level

32 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
(@audioboy)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks, I will try those things. And I think maybe I should start a new post for this, but who has any advice, or knows a place where I can get advice on finger placement because thats what I currently seem to have trouble with.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

Oh BTW in response to Rahul;s question about my ID, its my ID number for my university which i have had stuck in my brain seeing as Im doing a four year long course! Nothing mystical about it, and no, i wasnt born in 1748 :P LOL

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

These are a few things I wish I had practiced when I started playing;

3) Use your pinky! Although it is the least used finger, it is by default the weakest. Again, I left using the pinky for a while, and soon became frustrated when it became the only finger that would not do as it was told! Forming G using the 320033 formation is a good way to strengthen the pinky, as it switching between 320033 and 032033, as this requres the pinky and side hand muscles to tense and release as different stages - hence building up thier strength.

i am a bit different ...seems like my pinky really does a lot of work :wink: (and its the strongest)

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

Hmm, maybe I didn't put it right then...

When I said the pinky is the least used finger I didn't mean in a guitar capacity, but in a general life capacity. Obviously once you begin playing and using it to form chords it gets stronger :) but when you just start off playing most people find it the hardest finger to use.

ReplyQuote
(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

I was playing a few months before I impressed someone. It took me several decades before I impressed myself.

"The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There's also a negative side." -- HST

ReplyQuote
(@reasonableman)
Trusted Member