Small problem with pull-offs....

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@dylanbarrett)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hi all,

Well, I've been playing now for around seven months and my fingers are 'comfortably numb' and i've got these lovely calluses on the tips of my fingers which, although allow me to play to my hearts content all day, makes pull-offs sound like I'm plucking the string with a plec! :evil:

Does anyone else have this problem or have I just got to hone my technique?

Rock on!

D 8)

I'm nowhere near Chicago. I've got six string, 8 fingers, two thumbs, it's dark 'cos I'm wearing sunglasses - Hit it!

geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Do the callouses have burrs on them? Mine did that and I had the same problem. I just used a nail file and LIGHTLY filed the burrs off. You dont want to remove the callous, but unwanted dead skin.

Best
Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

ReplyQuote
(@dylanbarrett)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

why is that not a good thing?

Well, if you mean sounding like you're plucking the string...I don't know really - I suppose it's not the sound it produces, more the inconsistency - one time it will be nice and smooth and the next it catches and is louder....

No, they haven't got burrs on them so I don't need to take a file to them.

I suppose practice, practice, practice...

D 8)

I'm nowhere near Chicago. I've got six string, 8 fingers, two thumbs, it's dark 'cos I'm wearing sunglasses - Hit it!

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

sometimes I have callous ridges sometimes not. I do notice when the ridges grab just a bit more. I kinda like it.
I don't hear much difference. maybe I have old geezer hearing.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@blueline)
Noble Member