Soloing for beginners - Lost in technique

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@liontable)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi guys!

I've been practicing soloing for the last 2 months with my guitar teacher, which has been very fruitful, but there's still something missing. I've been learning and correcting my technique a lot, getting very fluid hammer-ons and pull-offs, vibrato, proper silencing of strings so you don't get that muddy sound from strings that keep on ringing.

There's still one issue, that's also been touched upon by my teacher:

I'm too focused on my technique, forgetting the music.

This obviously isn't good, and it's even worse when I don't have someone playing with me :oops: . I pretty much keep running up and down my pentatonic scale following the "right" notes and bending on all the "right" places. It makes my playing quite boring, actually. There's no "real" variation in what I'm doing, and I often find myself starting to race over my notes to make up for this. I haven't really played by ear, so this might be part of the issue.

I've read the articles on Guitarnoise and I think they're a great help (the Tom Hess one was very interesting, for example), but I'm still a bit lost. I just learned to fluidly get pinch harmonics, but once again I'm using them to cover up my lack of original playing. I can easily improvise a song when playing chords (including singing), so I think the real issue is being too tense and focused, and holding on too tightly to the things I've learned. :cry:

What would I want from you guys?

- How did you get over this issue if you had it? I'm working on it with my teacher, and it's improving (Switching volume, leaving pauses, ...) but I'd like to work on it by myself too due to winter break.
- Do you have any examples? I could probably learn from anything you guys have (licks would also be nice), an it could illustrate things a bit more.