Notifications
Clear all

Some questions to the more experienced guitar players

39 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@oldnewbie)
Eminent Member

The first guitar I played with was an Ibanez acoustic beginner guitar that I borrowed.

I taught myself the basic chords from "HOw to" books I had checked out from the library. The first song I learned was Pink Floyd's Wish you were Here. I learned the chords first then played along with the CD to learn the chord changes.

I would say that I'm 90% self taught and have learned a couple of things from friends. I started out learning songs by looking up the chords on the internet, then I decided if I was going to put all of this effort into learning songs, why not throw some chords together that sound good and add my own lyrics. I became a songwriter very early on in my learning stages. As my songwriting has matured, so has my guitar technique, its been quite a ride.

I play solo.

I once asked a friend if I needed to learn music theory, he said his music theory was that if it sounds good to you, go with it. No matter what you are trying to learn, get good at it before moving on to something new, you don't want to have to backtrack all the time to relearn things you should have gotten right the first time around. As you can see I speak from experience.

Have fun!

http://EricDees.com
http://Soundclick.com/ericdees

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

No matter what you are trying to learn, get good at it before moving on to something new, you don't want to have to backtrack all the time to relearn things you should have gotten right the first time around. As you can see I speak from experience.