Clear all

songbook with strumming patterns

30 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
18.4 K Views
(@adrianjmartin)
Estimable Member

This question seems to get asked again and again and again....always seems to disolve into "Just pick them out yourself..."

Note to educators!

How about a book/pdf of say ten, well known tunes with a strumming patterns?

Tutors, usually good guitar players find this stuff easy to play....us beginners find it very tricky!!

Give us I kick start here...

ReplyQuote
(@inths)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

This question seems to get asked again and again and again....always seems to disolve into "Just pick them out yourself..."

Note to educators!

How about a book/pdf of say ten, well known tunes with a strumming patterns?

Tutors, usually good guitar players find this stuff easy to play....us beginners find it very tricky!!

Give us I kick start here...
Very well said !!

Being a beginner, I lack the technical ability to just make up my own strumming pattern. I think that learning the correct pattern of a tune would (A) help people recognise what I'm playing which isn't always clear and (B) give me the confidence to goof about and create my own version of that song.

So, back to the original question : does anybody know of a book that show the strumming pattern to different songs?

(if not, then Misters Hackett and Hodge better go write one!!) :o)

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I'm not sure of a song book per se but there are books devoted to strumming etc. I have one but never used it much. I'll see if I can get the name and post it for you

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@rr191)
Trusted Member

Hal Leonard Publishing has a whole series of songbooks in it's Strum It! series. These books provide the chords, timing and strum patterns for the songs. Some are better than others, but it will provide a start to get you familiar with common patterns.

-- Rob

ReplyQuote