Clear all

songs with two guitars

11 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@brian-f)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Have found a buddy that plays guitar as well and we have gotten together once already. basically just screwing around with my new amp, trying each others guitars, etc. He is quite a bit more advanced than i am, hes been playing for years, has a music background from band and stuff in high school, and he played bass in bands thorughout high school as well. I am a true beginner with only a few months under my belt. We both have acoustics and electrics, but I'm not that comfortable with the electric yet. I can play most open chords and can switch pretty good, play a few songs.

My question is if anyone has some good songs, recent, older, rock, whatever, that have two guitar parts, maybe a rythm and a lead part, that would be fairly easy to play. I would need easy and he would need moderately easy to intermediate stuff. I think this would be a blast and would help me, and him too, to get better.

Any ideas? thanks

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

I have a couple of ideas.
One i did with my teacher, Scarborough Fair,
3/4 time, I play a Bass, strum, strum pattern while he played the melody.
Similar to that I played Amazing Grace with a friend, i played the same pattern as above while he played melody on his fiddle (that was way cool)
My brother in law and I play together sometimes and just take it as it comes.
One I have been working on recently that really needs 2 guitars is Time in a Bottle by Jim Croce but that one is a little bit more dificult.

ReplyQuote
(@jbrownstein)
Trusted Member

Anything by the Eagles has lots of guitar room for two instruments, especially combination of acoustic and electric guitar.

Try Take it Easy.

The unexamined life is unworth living - Aristotle

ReplyQuote
 Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member