Clear all

Sore wrists

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@chris_skilton)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

hi ...... evry time i play my acoustic i allways get aching wrists and sore fingers can u tell me how to get rid of it other than if u keep practising it will go because i have been playing for a couple of years now and it hasn't gone thx :mrgreen:

Woot Woot!!

(@denny)
Reputable Member

Are both wrists hurting or just on your fretting hand? If it's just on your fretting hand, you might try to straighten your wrist some.

ReplyQuote
(@jasonrunguitar)
Reputable Member

Also, if it's the pick hand, maybe try to keep the wrist motion to a minimum when doing single note picking (try playing more from the elbow down), and just let the wrist relax in general with strumming. But then again, a lot of it just comes down to what works for you. Try different combinations of wrist position/movement, and stick with what works.

Best!
Jason

-Jason
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
To those about to rock, we salute you!
http://www.soundclick.com/jasonwittenbach

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

I occasionally get a sore wrist. If you are getting a sore wrist a lot, I would guess it is either a hand postion problem or too much tension. The sore fingers thing is unusual though, if you have been playing a couple of years. Assuming you play regularly. One thing that could possibly cause both is a crazy high action or badly worn frets. Either one of those can cause you to be press much harder to play clean.

Good luck

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@nexion)
Honorable Member

Really play attention to the positions you put your hands in while playing. If your wrist is hurting you must be putting your arm in an unnatural position. Your wrist shouldn't be hurting, even if you are only a beginner.