staccato notes while playing scales - want longer notes

9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 pab
(@pab)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

hi everyone - i've been playing now for about 5-6 months and see some real improvement. however, one of the things that keeps my playing down is the fact that i play my individual notes staccato (when i don't mean to). for example, when i am playing a c scale in the 1st position, the notes are short.

now, i've been told this and so i've tried working on it. i realize that i need to lift off one finger a split instant before the other finger goes down and i pick that note (i do fingerstyle on an acoustic). if i release the one finger and then fret the 2nd finger and then pick it, there is a gap there. that is what i'm trying to avoid (i want smooth playing).

i've slowed it down and tried to get the synchronization down between my left and right hands. it's just hard for me to tell if i'm doing it correctly, and practicing this is tedious and at times seems pointless b/c no matter how slow i do it, it's hard for me to tell if there's a gap there or not, although my teacher notices it right away. i am trying to practice fixing this with chromatic scales so i can get good at this with all fingers.

i find it hard to believe that this is an uncommon problem, yet i fail to see this mentioned in instruction books so that i can get somethings (lessons) to practice to help out. does anyone have any recommendations? my teacher points out that it happens with my playing, has showed me why it happens, but i haven't got to the point of being able to fix it with him. any suggestions on this are appreciated. btw, i also notice it while doing chord changes with fingerstyle. that will be my next question!

Thanks!

(@richw)

Been a while since I've visited these forums. Whew.

As for your problem;