Skip to content
Started playing at ...

Notifications
Clear all

Started playing at 20 and have no ear, am I doomed?

20 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@guitarbum)
Topic starter  

Was hoping some of you might be able to shed some insight on some doubts I am having about what I have chosen to do with my life. I started playing about a year and a half ago at the age of 20. I would like to pursue guitar (for that matter, music in general) as a career path/lifestyle, but fear I do not have the natural talent required to do so. The following history may be a little too personal for this type of forum, but I think it's important to answering the question. If you don't feel like reading the admittedly long history, perhaps you could offer some basic beginner tips for ear training or your own experiences with developing an ear at a later age.
-------------------------------------------
The past four years of my life have been mired in drugs and a whole mess of other issues that accompanied that. I felt like I was living "on the edge" for awhile, but in reality was just wasting my best years (and braincells) away with nonsense. I was a gifted student (despite not putting in much effort) in high school, and managed to get into a good engineering school. It wasn't what I wanted to do, it just seemed like I didn't have much of a choice at the time. I was naturally talented in math/logic so I figured my chosen major, software engineering, would be a breeze. I never even considered going into the arts, I just took it for granted that it was too impractical.