Clear all

Still hard to hit all the notes!

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@old-lefty)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 11 months now, self taught, and no one else to play with. I'm happy with my progress, and get in 1-2 hours of practice at least 5 days a week.
I use "Blues You Can Use" and a few other similar self help books to practice with. What frustrates me is that I still have a hard time getting through a little blues number without making a mistake or two, despite plenty of practice on the particular song I'm working on.
My question is this normal to still be making mistakes here and there at this stage? I mean, I have these songs memorized but I still either have a brief brain fart and forget what's next, or maybe it's a slip of the finger. It could be a slow tempo tune even, I'll still make a mistake every so often. Whattya think? Am I being too hard on myself, or do I need to take a close look at how I'm playing and try to find a solution?
Appreciate the help, as always.

Brian

(@alangreen)

I've been playing for about 11 months now...

What frustrates me is that I still have a hard time getting through a little blues number without making a mistake or two, despite plenty of practice on the particular song I'm working on.

My immediate reaction is that you don't have very much to worry about

My question is this normal to still be making mistakes here and there at this stage?

Oh yes. Everybody makes mistakes from time to time. It's normal.

I mean, I have these songs memorized but I still either have a brief brain fart ......

Excellently put. I couldn't have described it any better.