Clear all

Strength/stamina in picking hand

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@old-lefty)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 2 months now and over the last week or so I've been working on a couple of blues shuffles with some backing tracks. I've managed to get the rythm down but I can only sustain it for a minute at the most. It's like my pick just runs out of steam and it quickly deteriorates into late and sloppy playing. I'm sure that I'm tensing up some trying to keep up with the tempo.......hey, for me, it's fast! And I have seen some improvement as to how far along in the song I can get, but the progress is slow.

Is there a way to strengthen my picking hand/wrist/arm to give me more endurance? I was thinking about doing some wrist curls when I'm at the gym, but side to side which mimicks (a little) the picking motion, and wondering if anyone else has tried resistance training to enhance their playing abilities.

Thanks,

Brian

Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

I don't play with a flatpick too much anymore, but I have tendinitis/arthritis issues which make fingerstyle playing difficult. Recently have been working with a "squeeze toy" -- I think it's supposed to be a stress-relief device, but I'm using it for hand strengthening. And it seems to help.

Others will have better ideas about pick technique, but I'd recommend starting with your grip on the pick. This can be pretty loose & relaxed. I think a lot of people get a death grip on that thing, which imparts tension all up the arm.

"You can't write a chord ugly enough to say what you want to say sometimes, so you have to rely on a giraffe filled with whipped cream." - Frank Zappa

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

I learned that relaxing and extending my middle and ring fingers and pinky does wonders for eliminating fatigue. Don't make a fist with your picking hand

It is difficult to answer when one does not understand the question.

ReplyQuote
(@old-lefty)
Trusted Member
Topic starter