Notifications
Clear all

String change on a electric with a tremolo

14 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@law42)
Topic starter  

I recently acquired a very old squier stratocaster and the strings definitely need changing. I've been playing acoustic for about 6 months and know how to change those, but I don't know how to change the ones on the squier. Is it okay to put the ball end of the strings up on the tuning pegs like in this video? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yutG2LhzQxo

(@bluesy)
Eminent Member

I would think it is not okay to put the ball end of the string up on the tuning peg for your strat; at least if it is anything like my stratocopy. The ball end should go slightly into the body of the guitar at the bottom.

I found the following video most useful when changing the strings on my guitar - http://www.workshoplive.com/player/tips.cfm - click on the video labeled "How to Restring an Electric Guitar with String Through Body".
Even though they are using a telecaster in the video, it is essentially the same process for my strat. Feed the string through the body and the ball end will hold the string in the slot. Unless your strat has a floyd rose trem I don't see how you'd get the strings to stay in place without the ball end hooking into the body.

Good luck!

ReplyQuote
(@law42)
Topic starter  

Thank you! that helps a lot once i'm able to actually re-string this thing........

but now I have another embarrassing problem :oops: