Clear all

String Replacement Questions

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@bluesy)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I understand I should probably replace the aging strings on my guitar as I've had it for almost 4 years and never changed the stings. Although, I haven't played it regularly for more than the past few months. Since I'm a total newb I have some (most likely) basic questions that I need help with. I'm sure this has all probably been covered before, but I don't seem to be finding much easily with the search; please don't flame me too much :lol:.

I guess I'll start with the guitar first as I believe that can rule out certain strings. I have a Peavey International Series Raptor I, which I think is just your run of the mill stratocopy. The only way I could figure out how to post a picture was by using Google Docs so hopefully this works - http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfp6kz5f_0gqjddrcs . Assuming that works, let me know if you need a closer view of the bridge area. It would seem the bridge is fairly standard, but I cannot seem to find whether it is one of the types that can only take certain gauge strings. It looks as though the guitar had a tremolo bar at one point that was removed (prior to my purchasing it), but I'm not sure if that matters any. Before I rant too much further, is my choice of string size limited by my guitar at this point?

Also, related to the question above, I'd eventually like to start playing heavier rock; from what I can gather typically one wants to use thicker strings for heavier music, but there seems to be some disagreement on that depending on whether one is doing lead or rhythm work. Should I stick with what seems to be "standard" 9's or go with something thicker?

Edit: Should I really be looking to change the tone of my guitar that much with a different set of strings? Perhaps I'm just missing something...