Notifications
Clear all

Strings disappear

23 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

I haven't looked at my strings much lately. But then, I have been improvising blindfolded.

lol, I'm not even kidding. :lol:

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@dhutson)
Estimable Member

All kidding aside there have been some informative, historical, and entertaining posts for our beginning friend. And I can certainly relate. I am a MAWG myself who switched to bifocal contacts shortly after I started playing guitar which is the time we most want to STARE at those strings. Had to take the contacts out to practice and on the days I had lessons I couldn't wear the contacts. It was a real pain in the pa-toot. Turned out my prescription was whacked so that was easily remedied, but I digress (another symptom of middle-age, or at least mine).

The reason that I wanted to chime in here is that my teacher RECOMMENDED practicing chord changes in a completely dark room. He recomended the same thing for practicing licks and runs as it made the mind focus more on the sound and what you were doing. Now I don't know if he was performing some type of Jedi mind trick or if the benefit is all in my head but I feel like it helped me play more cleanly. YMMV. Of course I still have a long way to go.

/dwayne

http://www.soundclick.com/wayneroberts

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member

I really wasn't kidding, lately I have literally been doing 20 minutes every other day or so with a bandana over my eyes so I can't look at the strings (or get distracted with anything else visual - the brain can only process so much at a time, right?). One of my mates is blind, and I tried the idea after discussing with someone how not having sight means your other senses have to focus more. Just make sure you don't tie the blindfold over your ears.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

ReplyQuote
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member