Clear all

Strumming advice.

15 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@caneandrice)
Topic starter  

Hi,

I'm wondering if any of you very cool people can give me some advice on actually figuring out strumming patterns of songs? I'm aware that there are already many threads on this, but I'm not so much asking for a specific song, as I am a few tips on making it easier. As right now, to be honest, I feel like a complete idiot. The only songs I seem able to learn are finger picking songs and when I try to tackle a strumming song, I just get completely lost. To me it never ends up sounding the same. I know that some people will probably say to just go with what feels right, that I don't need to be completely accurate. The problem for me though is, I do. Unless I get a pattern down 100%, I just won't be happy with it.

I've tried many things, even slowing down the recordings to snail-like pace and I still can't differentiate between a downstroke and an upstroke, or how many beats it has. I'm a beginner, but I really don't have a problem with the chord changes, barre or otherwise, it's just when it comes to strumming, I couldn't even figure out the most basic song. To this day, after I think, four months of practice, I still can't play one song that is completely strumming. It never sounds right to me. Unless of course, it's on this awesome site, in the song section. The problem there though is that, I don't really have a desire to learn any of those songs, they don't interest me at all. Which makes it very hard for me to stick to it.

Well, I'll shut up now, but if anyone has read this far, thank you and could you please offer me any advice or tips on how you, yourself, deal with this problem.

(@zaiga)
Trusted Member