strumming tone and touch

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@velsing)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi again

I'm one of the fortunate people who gets ALOT of time to practice. so i've been playing for two years now, on average 2-3 hours a day. However, no matter how much i practice, i still can't seem to strum with a good tone and a light touch. I've gotten the hang of strum patterns, and i can keep good timing, but my strumming just seems to be too 'rough'. '

now i know other players who have been playing for longer than i have, yet they hardly practise as much. It seems that some of them have a really light touch and a good tone to their strumming.

So I'c like to know - Is there something i'm missing out in my practice? Is there anything i can do to improve my tone or is it something that some people just have naturally, or is it something that comes with years of practice.

thanks

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I assume you are talking about acoustic strumming...I don't do much of that but I do understand what you are saying about your 'rough" strumming, I have felt the same way.

The only advice I can give is to really sit and listen to yor strumming and then try to change things up such as how you attack the strings, making sure you just lightly strum them, etc.

Try anything and everything that you don't do know until your ears tell you you are on to something...then practice that over and over.

I pretty much exclusively play an electric and the nuances of strumming an electric vs acoustic are different and I have tried to work on the same thing you are talking about because I always felt my strumming wasn't as smooth as I wanted it to be.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member