Clear all

stuck strumming the same way for every new song i play

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@iceanfire)
Topic starter  

Hey,

I'm having tons of trouble figuring out the strumming pattern by my self for any new song i look up.
When I try to "feel" the song, I just end up strumming it : D D U U D U (which coincidently was also the strumming pattern of the first real song i learnt).

How can i fight back against all this muscle memory?

any tips would be appreciated.

-hadi

klim
(@klim)
Reputable Member

Hey iceanfire,

I've been playing for about two years and I still do that. I usually fall back into one picking and strumming pattern by default. But yes you can beat it if you spend a few minutes a day trying out any other strumming pattern slowly.

Try this site for some tips on strumming and strumming patterns: http://www.scenicnewengland.net/guitar/acoustic/info/strumming.htm

Also go to any of the beginner's songs on this site for tips on strumming by the one and only David Hodge.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

listen more. hear it. don't just try to feel it.

ReplyQuote
(@fluid)
Trusted Member

Good old D DU UDU... every time I try and figure out a strumming pattern I start with that... and half the time that's what I end up with too. What works for me is to loop the song I'm trying to learn and play a couple of bars at a time, I won't get the strumming bang on at first, I start with D DU UDU, but I find that after a few loops of really trying to listen to the strums it starts to come together.

ReplyQuote
 Jay1
(@jay1)
Trusted Member

Heres another really good site for strumming patterns

http://www.grouptherapy.guernsey.net/strumming.html

ReplyQuote
(@matteo)
Honorable Member

Hi mate

first of all don't be discouraged since most of us have passed your same troubles. Having said so I suggest you to do a search in the forum since there are a lot of similar topics where you can find some useful tips on how to discerne a strumming pattern.