Clear all

taking lessons!

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I took about 4 lessons when I started off on guitar from a friend - but then he moved.

Now taking from a guy at my church - and had my first one last night. It was pretty good. He asked me what I'd play if I walked into a guitar store - so I started playing a blues lick. He then based just about everything off of that.

Showed me some different fingerings for basic chords to allow for easier transitions, a few different scale modes, and a few licks to work on that incorporated all of these.

Also gave me some finger exercises to work on will help with finger dexterity and working on major scales.

I think that this will be boost I needed to continue improving. Now if I could only play in front of people without getting nervous and screwing up...

(@blueline)
Noble Member

... Now if I could only play in front of people without getting nervous and screwing up...
That will pass with time and (obviously) as you become more experienced. I always try to remember that mostly anyone listening to me play, does not know how to play themselves. SO, they can really tell when I make a mistake!!

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

ReplyQuote
(@minotaur)
Noble Member

Showed me some different fingerings for basic chords to allow for easier transitions, a few different scale modes, and a few licks to work on that incorporated all of these.

Also gave me some finger exercises to work on will help with finger dexterity and working on major scales.

If I try to go too fast I screw up. I hit the wrong string, mute it, or twang or buzz it. If I slow down and concentrate I'm good to go. I'm too new to go fast.
Now if I could only play in front of people without getting nervous and screwing up...