Clear all

Taking my first class

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@viper)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for about 6 months, and after pestering my parents, I've got myself a couple of appointments with a private tutor. I know a basic theory pretty well since in those six months I've pretty much been reading up on music when I didn't have a guitar in my hands. What can I expect my first class to be like? What questions will be asked? How do I prepare?

Ibanez RG3EXFM1

(@raistx)
Trusted Member

Hi Viper,

I'm not sure if there is much you can do to prepare.

My first lesson was about 4 months ago. Basically the whole lesson was spent discussing and showing what I had already learnt and talking about what I wanted to achieve.

It will probably take a few lessons to see if you like his teaching methods/personality, if not find another teacher.

Good luck,

Marty.

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

It's basically a Meet and Greet. He'll probably ask you where you are in your learning, maybe ask you to play a few things, discuss your goals and discuss his methodology.

The first lessons I've found (I've had more than one teacher) weren't that different for all the teachers and you really don't get an idea whether or not you click with a teacher until you've had several lessons.

The best thing is to be open and communicate what you are expecting.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@clau20)
Reputable Member

Like others said, you'll not learn a lot of things for the first class

It's about presentation of you and your teacher, what kind of music you like, what you want to learn, and play a little something to show him how you can play.