Clear all

Talking about a revolution - Tracy Chapman - Strumming Help

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@rich_halford)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I'm 34, fairly new to guitar and a very slow learner. Even though I have been playing for 8 months I still can't play a 'chorded' song but I am getting better all the time. Before picking up a guitar I wasn't even that interested in music, I buy maybe 1 CD every 2 years or so.

Anyway, I love Tracy Chapman stuff and have tickets for her concert in London in November, 4th row no less. It will be my first concert ever and I can't wait.

I like acoustic sounds and want to be able to play folk/camp fire type stuff, so thats my goal for now.

I have the chords for 'Talking about a revolution' but try as I might I can't get the strumming pattern/changes right. This site and forum has been great, I've learnt loads and have been lurking for a while but I have given up trying to crack this song. I'm sure once I can do one I will stand a better chance of figuring out some others.

So, can anyway write out in an easy to follow idiots guide type way how to strum this song? I've searched the web, this info isn't out there, I guess its too simple to post....

I'm looking for something like:
G: d d u u
Cadd9: d d u u

(or whatever it is)

Many thanks for reading this far, sorry for the verbose first post.

Rich.

P.S. Matt Guitars article has got me strumming okay and chord changes are slow but getting there thanks to everyones posts on here on that subject.

(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

D DU UDU

I don't know the song. Just listened to it now.

I dont know the chords but it sounds like there are only 2 anyway. That is the pattern for each chord.

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@maxrumble)
Honorable Member

I just checked the net the chords I got were

G C Em D

Cheers,

Max

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

Tracy's great. glad she is making a comeback.

excellent song too.