Clear all

terrible performance anxiety!

15 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@gforce)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I am not really a beginner player-- I would say that I am an intermediate player. However-- I would like to start playing with other people, and eventually I want to play and sing live--but the trouble is, I am so intimidated by other players that my mind goes blank and it renders my fingers useless. Recently, I went to play with a guy who heard that I could sing, and who was looking for another female singer. He knew I also played guitar some so he said to bring it along, which I did because lately I've been practicing alot and feeling pretty confident about my playing-- within the confines of my own home. The first song he wanted to play ( a cover) I knew really well so that went all right. I suggested another song by the same artist because he wanted to play some more uptempo country. Anyway, I had practiced this song all day, and I felt great about it. As soon as I went to play it for him, my playing fell to pieces after the first measure. I messed up the fingering, forgot the next chord, forgot the words, everything. I kept saying I was really tired, which was true, ( my 3 year old kept me up) but I suffer like this while well rested, so I was just making excuses.
Once we were on to his songs, I just couldn't keep up with his rhthym and my mind just shut down, so I just stuck to singing.
I feel really dissapointed because I have been working so hard at improving my playing. I don't want to be just a singer! I love playing guitar and singing.
I know your not therapists, but any help at all would be really appreciated. Last night I kept thinking I should sell my guitar, or just keep the playing for myself. I have a big voice and I really want to play and sing with people and in front of people, but it's never going to happen if my mind goes blank and my fingers freeze!

Thankyou,

Gforce

Gforce.

Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member