Clear all

That "clunk" sound or "I need longer fingers&

16 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@eirraca)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ok so, I'm practicing learning notes as from the absolute beginner page, Em, E, etc. I noticed David spoke about that "clunk" sound and I am hearing it on certain notes and for the life of me am having trouble just stretching/arching those fingers so they don't touch the other string/s. I've cut my fingernails down enough so I can actually put the tip on the string/fret. So my question is, will my fingers gradually stretch or be able to arch enough where I'm not touching the other strings or will I just "get it" at some point after much patience and practice? :D Thanks you guys!

(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

you will just wake up one day.....pick up your guitar....and it will sound sweet.....honest :lol:

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

ReplyQuote
(@denny)
Reputable Member

They will absolutely be able to arch enough to hit the strings cleanly. It just takes practise. Sometimes we hold the neck in a death grip and that doesn't allow the fingers to arch. When we relax a little and move the palm off the neck using our thumb as the suppport, it allows the fingers to have a more direct path to the strings. Good luck.
Denny

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Yeah, I am not educated enough to know why.. but it will happen. I know it was hard for me and I have large hands.. so I think it doesnt matter than much.

Someone posted a YouTube vid with an Asian lady playing a classical guitar and she was awsome. You can do it!!

Jim

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

ReplyQuote
 Jay1
(@jay1)
Trusted Member