Notifications
Clear all

The Action of a Guitar

19 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@solarsis)
Topic starter  

Hi. I just started playing the acoustic guitar about 2 months ago. I'm 44 and am simply interested in playing for fun, but as with anything I try, I want to learn as much as possible so that I can stretch my skill and knowledge.

I've been lurking around the forums on this site as well as few others and have been reading a lot about the "action" of one guitar over another. I understand about the different gauges and materials of strings, and the advantages, disadvantages, etc., but I can't seem to find anything that describes what the action of a guitar means exactly.

Can someone explain?

Just curious.

Thanks!

"I've never known a musician who regretted being one. Whatever deceptions life may have in store for you, music itself is not going to let you down."
~Virgil Thomson

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

I've been playing for 6 years and I still don't know what action is.... Learn to play it first, then learn the mechanics after...

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"

feel free to talk with me on msn at [email protected]..... no icq anymore

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Hi

The action is just guitar terminology for the height of the strings really, a guitar with a "high" action means the strings are quite a way from the frets (good for slide playing) a guitar with really low action will suit finger picking but a hard strum might give you a bit of buzzing.

hope that clears it up!

Matt

ReplyQuote
(@solarsis)
Topic starter  

Thank you Matt. Yes, it does! Much appreciated. :)

"I've never known a musician who regretted being one. Whatever deceptions life may have in store for you, music itself is not going to let you down."
~Virgil Thomson

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Hi,

Couple things: