Clear all

The next level?

15 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@kachman)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey all! I'm new on the forum but have been getting lessons from guitarnoise for about 7 months now. I don't know if my situation is that unique, but I do feel like there are'nt that many of us.

I'm a 27 yr old engineer (yep!) and have always loved all kinds of music. However I grew up in an environment without any real close musial influences or really anyone who could play an instrument. I think I was kinda taught not to dwell on music cos it didn't bring home the bacon. So I grew up an avid listener and music lover, but never really saw myself participating.

So here I am now, with a different outlook based on my experiences, moving to the States etc, and I've finally dared to explore this musical world i've always admired from afar. I always loved the sound of the guitar, from mellow Tracy Chapman folk songs to Jimmy Hendrix, Pink Floyd (love the way Gilmour makes every note work hard and sound great), Clapton, BB king, reggae/skat sounds, Dylan and on and on and on - so the guitar was pretty much a no brainer.

Last August I picked up a used 1979 Aria 9502 acoustic guitar (pretty cheap), found guitarnoise (and a few other good sites) and have been learning how to play using the online lessons. David Hodge did a great job of teaching "wish you were here" (one of my favorites) and I've been hooked since I learned how to play it (well - i still stumble over the intro-solo).