Skip to content
Time of your life, ...

Notifications
Clear all

Time of your life, is it really a begginer's song?

33 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
 bohh
(@bohh)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I just started playing guitar about 3 weeks ago. I don't know any full songs, just a few riffs and licks and a few chord progressions. My chord changes are finally starting to loose the pause in between but I'm not there yet. I know the chords: C, A, G, E, D, Em, Am.

And I feel like I can't play the guitatr. Sure I can play a few chords and a few riffs but, bleh. Anyway, I thought if I learnt a song in full it would make me a little more confident. So I heard that Time of Your Life by Greenday is an easy song, and it's one I like a lot and know all the words to already. So I figured I'd give it a try - yeah right! Am I doing somehting wrong or is this too advanced of a song for now?

Thanks for your help,

Mike

Guitarjourney.net - Everything I've learned and want to learn, including chord diagrams and other information.

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

Three weeks and your worried about playing a song! If you can play a song all the way through after just three weeks you'd be doing fantastic.

For most people including myself it took a lot longer than that.

I know the song your talking about but I've never tried to play it so I don't know how difficult it is, but pretty much any song at 3 weeks will seem difficult.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member

Welcome to GN. Great bunch of folks here.

The song looks pretty easy but I think something a little more chord driven maybe up your alley. Check the easy song database forum and beginners songs under lessons.

But then again if you like the song go for it, just keep practicing, you'll get it.

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I dont listen to green day any more.